The SAMLT project aims at developing a multilingual terminology list focusing on terms used in linguistics classrooms. Each of the 500 terms currently included in the list has been translated to nine South African languages by experts in the field and are further clarified with a concise definition and usage example. The languages included in the project are isiZulu, isiXhosa, Setswana, Sesotho sa Leboa, Siswati, Tshivenḓa, Sesotho, Xitsonga and isiNdebele.

This project is funded by the South African Centre for Digital Language Resources (SADiLaR) which is a national centre supported by the Department of Science and Innovation (DSI). The Department of African Languages at the University of South Africa (UNISA) is a proud node of SADiLaR and host of the SAMLT project.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started